The next HISRECO conference will be organized at the University of Lucerne by Verena Halsmayer on April 21-22, 2017, Frohburgstrasse 3, room 3.B52.

This year, as ever, we are very proud of our roster. It photoreflects, in our opinion, the vitality and diversity of research in the history of recent economics, with a good mix of well-known scholars and younger researchers with various backgrounds (economics, history, sociology and science and engineering studies).

  • Roger E. Backhouse (University of Birmingham and Erasmus University Rotterdam): “Samuelson and Kennedy”
  • Cléo Chassonnery-Zaïgouche (University of Lausanne): “‘The Economists Enter the Courtroom’ in Context”
  • Laetitia Lenel (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin): “Measurement without Theory? Business Cycle Research at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), 1946-1965”
  • Harro Maas (University of Lausanne): “Economics as a public science. Cultures of prediction in France and the Netherlands”
  • Steven G. Medema (University of Colorado Denver): “Non-Welfarism in the Early Debates Over the Coase Theorem: The Case of Environmental Economics”
  • Sarvnaz Lotfi (Virginia Tech): “Postwar R&D valuation and the ‘measure of our ignorance’”
  • Marion Ronca (University of Zurich): “From Logos to Mythos – The academic change of mind of the founder of the Swiss Economic Research Centre Eugen Böhler”
  • Anne Schreiber (University of Paderborn): “Social exchange during the era of Cold War. George Homans and the emergence of rational choice theory”
  • Francesco Sergi (Université Paris 1 – Panthéon Sorbonne): “The Standard Narrative in History of Macroeconomics: Central Banks and DSGE Models”
  • Isabella Weber (University of Cambridge): “Is Socialism Compatible with a Market Economy? The Chinese Chapter in the Socialist Calculation Debate”

The full program is available here.

Those interested in attending are invited to contact Verena Halsmayer: verena(dot)halsmayer(at)unilu(dot)ch

The organizing committee is comprised of Pedro Duarte, Yann Giraud, Verena Halsmayer and Joel Isaac.